Off the couch, bub.

akron-trails-2-0119

The only thing better than a trail is lots of trails.

Winter finally has ended.

The birds are singing. The tulips are sprouting. And my long, lazy indoor ways are over.

Yep, it’s time to hit the trails!

And not short trails, either. This is the year for my first ultramarathon.

Yep, an ultramarathon. It’s an intense day in the woods, running along hiking paths, climbing helacious hills, tripping over roots, splashing across countless creeks, stopping every four or five miles to grab a handful of trail mix or a peanut butter sandwich. 

After seven years of running marathons, I’m ready for a new challenge. No more of this lazy, “I’ve run a couple of marathons; let’s call it a year.”

It’s time to take it to another level.

First of all, a little confession. I usually run year-round. But this winter, I wimped out.  I just didn’t want to fight the snow, freezing air and icy ground. I became a Indoors Man.

homer4And after a while, I became an Indoors Man with a Tummy (left).  Oh man, how did that happen?

Well, we know how it happened. But let’s not look in the past. Let’s look ahead.  Spring means it’s time for a fresh start!

A new year, new goals.

You might ask: Why an ultramarathon? Isn’t that a big extreme Trail Boy?

No, it’s not. And here’s why. I turn 50 in May. A half century.

It’s time to do something big to ring it in. Otherwise, I’ll just become Big Man with a Tummy and Three Chins.

I just want one chin.

And a few ultramarathons under my belt.

That  should keep me motivated, and off the couch.

A few weeks ago, I signed up for the Buckeye Trail 50K, which is run in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park and surroundings in Northeast Ohio.

I’m also toying with the idea of running a 50-mile race in the fall. Probably the JFK 50-Miler on Thanksgiving Weekend, but maybe a different one.

This blog is a first step to keep me honest, consistent, motivated and somewhat methodical about running. Please check back often to see how I’m doing.

And come run with me. On trails!

2 Responses to “Off the couch, bub.”

  1. I’m impressed. Not because you are running, because running per se doesn’t impress me. In fact my disdain for running is so passionate that I have told acquaintances that if they ever see me running by the side of the road to go ahead and throw stuff at me for I have surely lost my mind. What impresses me is your spirit and dedication to something you love (running), ultimately for something you love (providing your family a healthy husband and father). While you embark on your journey I will follow, and use it as motivation to do the things I can do (not running) to fix my own tummy and multiple chins. Better eating. Regular exercise. And while your running the Cuyahoga, perhaps I’ll drive by and provide a honk of encouragement. Good luck.

  2. Hey Trail Boy. They say that if you want blog traffic, you have to post several times a day. Maybe you could figure out a way to tweet straight from the trail!

    Good luck on the 50k/50m thing. Makes me want to consider doing another marathon this fall.

Leave a Reply

