R is for recovery

Oooh. Trail Boy woke up with a twinge in the hip. Yesterday’s race took its toll.

As the day went on, other symptoms included low energy and heavy legs. That’s a bit unnerving. A 9-mile trail race shouldn’t do that much damage to my finely tuned machine.

So today is an off day. R is for rest and recovery.

I spent most of the day off my feet. I went to church. I came home and helped Mrs. Trail Boy make dinner. I did dishes. I put another coat of varnish on the floor in the computer room. I took a short walk. I played the piano. I ate a sandwich.

But one thing I did not do was run. On days like this, R is for recovery, not running.

 Hopefully, Trail Boy will be back on his feet on Monday, itching for a trail run.

Or picking up the phone for a visiting nurse.

One Response to “R is for recovery”

  1. Good call. Staying healthy and making it to the starting line is the goal, not logging insignificant miles just to pad the training log. Quality trumps quantity almost every time.

Leave a Reply

