Back in the saddle

Will it ever stop raining? For the second morning in a row, I woke up to hear rain pounding on the roof. Grrrr!

Rain, rain, go the hell away!

It’s been one soggy month, boys and girls. We’re not even halfway through April, but according to the National Weather Service, we’ve already topped the normal total rainfall for the month, and more rain is on the way.

(I got a chuckle from this headline in the paper: “It’s Official: April is Quite Wet.”)

saddleBut Trail Boy can’t sit around and curse the weather. Well, not for longer than the time it takes to drink two cups of coffee. It’s time to get back in the saddle. I’ve already taken two days of rest. So I reached for the raincoat and baseball hat and headed out into the cruel elements.

I didn’t drive to a trail. I had no time today. Besides, most trails are a soaking-wet mess. So I ran four miles in loops around my neighborhood. I took it nice and easy, to avoid aggravating my sore calves. The rain alternated between a light drizzle and a sprinkle — nothing too terrible. Still, there were plenty of puddles on the road, and lots of water in ditches and on lawns.

My time was 35:29. At the end, I had a glow in my face and nice, clean running shoes.

One Response to “Back in the saddle”

  1. ilovemorningfog Says:

    way to rock the run
    no rain excuses,
    inspiring!

Leave a Reply

