Sleepless in Indy

I usually sleep great during bad weather. The sound of rain on the roof or the snow against the window lulls me to sleep faster than reading an insurance policy.

But last night, I slept lousy. A heavy thunderstorm woke me up at 2 a.m. and kept me awake for hours. I tossed and turned. I thought about work. I thought about car problems.

clockI think I finally drifted back to sleep several hours later. When the clock the clock went off at 6:30 a.m., I sat up with a groggy head and heavy feet.

I moved in slow motion all morning. Not a good sign.

When I went out for a run at lunchtime on the towpath. I plodded along with no energy or joy. Just one of those days, I guess.

After running about 1 1/2 miles, I saw a truck parked on the towpath, blocking access, while workers cleared some fallen trees from the vicinity. “Path is temporarily closed,” said a sign.

I sighed and turned around, and plodded back to my car. My total running time was 16:29. I had no interest in extending my run by a single minute.

I hope I have a little more bounce tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

