Sore ankle, friendly face

This isn't really my foot. And it's my right ankle that's sore, not the left. But I needed a visual.

Damn ankle.

It’s been hurting for five days. I must have really over-stressed it at Saturday’s muddy trail race.

Today, I went running on the towpath at lunchtime. But my ankle just refused to loosen up. It was sore and stiff and basically refused to get with the program.

Each step was a slow, mechanical movement. I felt like I was running with my right foot in a box.

After about 1 1/2 miles, I shifted down to a shuffle. My ankle didn’t like that either. So I finally quit pretending I was running and went into power hike mode.

To compensate for the walking, I extended the distance a bit, chugging along for an hour and 10 minutes.

Of course, the whole time I was out there, I was wondering just one thing: Hhow long is this ankle going to mess up my training?

And the answer is: Who knows?

Of course, I hope it’s just another day or two. And I can only pray that my ankle is getting stronger, not weaker.

Well, it’s a good thing we have a three-day holiday weekend coming up. If I have to, I can put off my long run until Monday.

*******************************

JIM NABORS: Sometimes people are even nicer in person than they are on TV.

Here’s something that took a bit of sting out of my ankle troubles today.

 A few hours ago, I met Jim Nabors in the hallway at work. GOOOLLLLLLYYYY!

Every May, he comes to Indy for 500 race weekend. He rides in the parade on Saturday and sings “Back Home in Indiana” at the Indy Motor Speedway before the race on Sunday. And he does a bunch of interviews and is generally very friendly and available.

So this morning, he came to the newspaper for an interview. I met him when he was getting on the elevator. He gave me a big smile, said hi, shook my hand, and chatted for a few seconds. It’s like he thought I was the celebrity, not him.

I grew up on Andy Griffith and Gomer Pyle shows. Even though the writing was kind of corny, I thought the shows had good chemistry, and seemed to be about really nice, friendly people. Now I know just how friendly.

Leave a Reply

