Taking a nap, and taking a stand

I’m not sure why, but I have spent a lot time curled up in bed this weekend. I guess a week of heavy training is catching up with me.

This is a rough look at my schedule:

Saturday:

* Up early, run three hours on trails at Eagle Creek Park.

* Go home, change clothes, head over to the baseball field to watch Son No. 2 play his last game of the season.

* Go back home. Take two hour nap.

* Go to church. Help with a project.

* Go home. Eat dinner.

* Take a one-hour nap.

* Go to a backyard party at a neighbor’s house.

* Go home, sleep for 10 hours.

Sunday:

* Up early. Take a short walk.

* Go to church, then home for lunch.

* Take a two-hour nap.

* Cut the lawn. Take a 20-minute nap.

* Go to the swimming pool. Horse around with family in the pool. Swim a few laps.

* Go home. Cook dinner. Eat dinner. Play piano.

* Take a nap!

* Wake up, do dishes, read a book.

Now it’s about 10:30 p.m. and I’m puttering around, getting ready for the workweek. I’m just wondering one thing.

Can I make it through the week without stopping every two hours for a nap?

MONDAY MORNING UPDATE: I slept for 8 1/2 hours. I think I’ve soaked up enough Z’s to make it through the day, but who knows?

**************************************************************************

You might have noticed I made a comment above about a church project.

I normally don’t use this blog to talk about religion or politics, but I’m going to make an exception today.

This particular project was to build a float for my church for the Indy Pride Parade next Saturday.

Yes, that’s pride, as in gay pride.

No, Trail Boy isn’t gay. Just ask Mrs. Trail Boy. But I feel happy every time I see a rainbow, a collection of diverse people, a lot of creative thinking — and basically, something that challenges conformity and closed thinking.

Trail Boy touches up the rainbow. There's more to life than running.

But the issue of gay rights is an important one for everyone. I have several friends and family members who are gay, are wonderful people, but have taken a few lumps from society because of their sexuality.

I think it would be great if we could all be a little more understanding and loving on this issue.

So, just for this weekend, I’m trying to do my little part, helping to build and paint a float.

Next weekend, our church will take our position in the parade, driving and marching for five miles along with units from Fortune 500 companies (Dow Chemical, Eli Lilly, Cummins), local civil and community organizations, and churches and synogogues. Each more, more companies, organizations and people take part. It’s no longer a fringe issue. It’s becoming mainstream, as it should.

Here are a few photos of our job in progress.

Church members help each other across the generations in painting the float.

painting neil

Let's see, what comes after red? ROY G BIV. Oh yeah, orange!

People of all ages helped out.

Yep, it's coming along. OK, the lines aren't perfectly straight, but that's part of the charm.

 

I was the painting supervisor, but I got plenty of paint on my hands, too. The flaming chalice in the center of the rainbows is the symbol of religious freedom and understanding.

Leave a Reply

