One of those days

COUNTDOWN: Ultramarathon Day Minus 11

Running is a great way to start the day — especially when the rest of your day looks like this:

1) Go to dentist for cleaning and exam. Get lectured by hygienist on the proper way to brush and floss, as if you are six years old.

2) Go to work to see if you still have your job. Yep, the company that gives me a check every other week is cutting more than 1,000 jobs. The cuts are supposed to happen any day. So far, I’ve survived two rounds of newsroom layoffs since last summer. Is three my unlucky number? Stay tuned.

With a day like that, who wouldn’t want to run and run and run?

This morning, I ran four miles or so around my neighborhood at a nice, easy pace, finishing in 37:32. It was my first run since my killer long run on Saturday.

On a day like this, running might be the only bright spot.

Thank God for running.

Leave a Reply

