Mornings with Jake

COUNTDOWN: Ultramarathon Day Minus 4

As my training season winds down, I need to say thanks to a faithful companion who has logged countless miles with me.

Jake pedals past our house during a 5 1/2-mile outing this morning.

Whenever I do a quick run around my neighborhood, I can count on my 10-year-old son, Jake, to hop on his bike and keep me company.

This is one of our special times together — usually a half-hour or so, once or twice a week. When I can’t make it to the trails, I hit the neighborhood roads with Jake.

During this time, we catch up on father-son chit-chat. We talk about neighbors as we go by their houses. We sometimes race to the top of a slope.

When he’s feeling really energetic, Jake will see how many times he can lap me on our one-mile loop, pedaling furiously and passing me with a grin each time.

Often, by the time I’ve run one loop, he’s done three. The kid can fly.

This morning, we headed out again for neighborhood loops. We covered 5 1/2 miles in 47:44.

So Jake, thanks for all the miles together. After this race is over, let’s pick a fall marathon and do it again.

**************************************************************************************************

As I said yesterday, I’m keeping a close eye on my buddy, the weatherman. And he’s making me happier by the day.

Accoring to the latest five-day forecast from AccuWeather, the weather will be nice and cool in Akron on race day Saturday, with a high of 71. That’s down from yesterday’s forecast of a high of 76. “Cool with partial sunshine,” the weatherman says.

But wait, what’s this? On Friday, there’s a chance of showers or thunderstorms. Hmm, that could turn the trails into a mud puddle. Hey Weather Guy, can you hold off on the rain until Sunday?

2 Responses to “Mornings with Jake”

  1. Very sweet. These are things he’ll always remember.

  2. Sheridan Says:

    beautiful in many ways! (your son, the neighborhood, your time with your son, you are creating beautiful memories)

Leave a Reply

