Quit complaining, already

Well, this serves me right.

In the past few weeks, I’ve been whining a lot about the slim pickings on the racing scene. I’ve been in the mood for a good, fun short race on an interesting course, but have found meager offerings on bland courses.

So wouldn’t you know it: Two good races are coming right my way, and I have to pass on both them.

On Saturday, the DINO organization is putting on a 15K trail race at Town Run Trail Park. This is a great event in a very fun setting, just a couple miles from my house. But I won’t be able to go, because I’m heading to Ohio for Labor Day weekend.

Then, on Monday, an old friend, Master Denny is directing a 5K race in Seville, Ohio, called Run For the Trails, a fundraiser for local hiking and biking trails. How could I say no to that? Well, it’s just far enough away from where I’ll be staying in Ohio that I can’t get to it, and still make it to grandma’s across town for a family picnic.

So to all those hard-working race directors out there: Keep up the good work. I’ll try to make it next time.

And I’ll quit complaining.

Leave a Reply

