Dead man walking

I wish I could say I’ve been so busy running that I haven’t had time to blog.

That would explain a lot. Because to have a running blog, you need to:

1) Run.

2) Blog.

And I’ve not much of either in the last 72 hours.

That’s mostly because my job is taking every last ounce of my energy these days. Just take a look at what I did Monday:

1) Got up at 5:30 a.m. to prepare for a hastily called 7:30 a.m. interview with CEO of the biggest company in Indianapolis, to discuss huge layoffs and restructuring.

2) Race back to the newsroom to file an initial story online, beating the competition by nearly a half-hour.

3) Meet with editors repeatedly to plan coverage in the next day’s paper.

4) Give an interview to a local TV station over what this news means.

5) Update the online stories repeatedly. Interview scads of people. Write two front-page stories for Tuesday’s paper.

6) Get home around 9 p.m., completely and utterly exhausted.

7) Sleep fitfully, as the stress of the day bounced around in my brain.

This morning, I got up at 6:30 a.m., still brain-dead and groggy, today to start all over

And I’m sure I’m omitting lots of strum und drang in this report, in the interest of brevity. But believe me, it’s a gruesome tale.

Nevertheless, I pulled on my running shoes this morning, and pushed my dead body around neighborhood roads for about four miles at a laughably slow pace. Then, still tired, went to work, and never really snapped out of it.

May tomorrow bring calm, peace and healing.

Or at least a clear mind and a rested body.

Leave a Reply

