How about a nooner?

I just got back from a nooner, and I’m smiling from ear to ear. All is right with the world.

Yep, there’s nothing like a lunchtime  run on a beautiful trail to clear your mind and get the blood and endorphins flowing.

For me, midday is the ideal time for a quick run. By noon, I’ve usually been at work for a few hours, and am ready to stretch my legs and get away from my desk, phone, boss, co-workers —  the whole oppressive, uptight world, man.

Plus, at lunchtime, I’m fully awake —  unlike early morning, when I’m sometimes still half-asleep and every step is a chore, or after work, when I’d rather relax or play with my kids.

Different people find energy and different times of day. I happen to know that my peak energy time is about noon, when the caffiene has completely kicked in and I’ve been up and around for a few hours.

Not that I mind running at different times. Hey, you have to be flexible.

I’ve started runs as early as 4:30 a.m. and as late as 10 p.m. I got the job done, but I can’t say my energy level was at its peak.

I guess it’s all what you’re used to. The very first running club I joined, the Youngstown Road Runners, met every Monday at 7 p.m. at the local park for a long run. So after a month or two of running with that group, I got used to running after work.

The next club I ran with, the Summit Athletic Running Club, met every Sunday at 8 a.m. for a run. So guess what? Yep, I got used to early runs.

These days, I belong to no running club. I set my own time and place.

Today, for example, I went out at lunchtime to the canal towpath and ran about 5 1/2 miles in 45:08. The weather was great, and I managed to beat a rainstorm that is now headed our way.

I’m all endorphined and ready to work for three or four more hours. I feel on top of the world.

In my book, you can never go wrong with a nooner.

Leave a Reply

