Easy does it, except for blogging

I have a little theory about the relationship between running and blogging. It goes like this:  

1) The tougher the workout, the better the story.  

2) The easier the workout, the duller the story.  

This guy bored himself to death on his easy run. Now watch him try to blog about it.

The truth of this is painfully obvious to me right now, as I try to come up with something interesting to say about my 5.5-mile easy run at lunchtime.  

Sure, it was a pretty day, and I had a nice stretch of the legs. The trees were beautiful. The air was invigorating.  

But where does that get you?  

Not a single remarkable thing happened.  

Near the end, I said a little prayer that something truly interesting would happen, like a wild dog chasing me to my car, or a tree limb crashing to the ground, missing me by inches.  

Now that would be worth blogging about.  

So would a really tough workout, such as running hill repeats, while dragging a tire behind me on a rope, during a hailstorm.  Then I’d really have some killer material.  

Instead, I just did a no-sweat, maintenance run on the flat towpath in 47 minutes, on a slightly windy day.  

Do you hear how bad this is? Maintenance run. Flat towpath. Slightly windy.  

Man, I feel like the dullest guy at a Toastmasters’ Convention.  

But here’s the kicker. Easy days are critical to a running routine. You can’t run hard every day. You need to get in a certain number of easy miles to avoid overtraining, which can lead to all kinds of nasty things, such as fatigue, burnout, elevated resting heart rate, irritability and insomnia.   

Yep, you need the easy runs. But good luck blogging about them.  

Fortunately, I don’t do an easy run every day. Tomorrow, it’s time for a toughie. I’m going to run over hot coals in my bare feet, up a mountain road, until I drop from exhaustion.  

Not that I really want to do that.  

But that post will practically write itself.  

*********************************************************************************************************  

God knows I love trails, but some days, I think trail lovers just can’t be satisfied.  

I read a story this week in the Cleveland Plain Dealer about the Cuyahoga Valley National Park, the crown jewel of Northeast Ohio’s outdoors scene.  

This park has so many trails, you can fill a book with them.

The story was about a recent survey of park users, and what they would like to see over the next few years.  

So what do people want? According to a survey, they want MORE trails. More trails for hiking, for horseback riding, for mountain biking, for backpacking.  

Mind you, this park already contains more than 160 miles of trails. It is a trail heaven.   

When I lived in that region, I visited the national park at least twice a week (sometimes more) for five years. I considered myself a heavy user.  

But I didn’t even scratch the surface of that wonderful trail system.  

And the nearby metroparks have hundreds more miles of trails.  

Trail Boy loves a good stretch of dirt as much as the next person. But 160 miles of trails isn’t enough?  

I would kill for one-quarter of that in Central Indiana, land of the freeway, and home of the strip mall.  

Well, CVNP users, if the park service is going to bless you with more trails, I’m happy for you.  

I just wonder why Indiana got left so far behind, when the gods were handing out trails.

2 Responses to “Easy does it, except for blogging”

  1. Did you run in Mill Creek Park when you were in Youngstown? We can’t get enough of that place when we visit. Of course, I don’t run there. Maybe that’s why I struggle to find blog topics three days a week and you’re writing your head off.

    I once went to a Michael Jackson Thriller dance lesson just so I’d have something to blog about. It was so worth it.

    • I loved Mill Creek Park. That was my second home. I knew every inch of road and trail in the wonderful park. God bless Volney Rogers.

      Great idea about the dance lesson. Hmmm. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

