Creak, creak

My legs were a bit creaky today as I started my lunchtime run on the towpath. My left knee and right ankle weren’t happy.

They were still sore from Saturday’s trail race, a fun but fairly punishing run through the muddy woods.

My goal today was to run five easy miles, which normally would take me  40-45 minutes.

But I could tell this wasn’t going to be easy. I couldn’t get out of first gear. I was shuffling along, taking baby steps, very gently, very tentatively.

This was a surprise. I didn’t run at all yesterday, in an effort let my legs recover. Usually, after a half marathon, I’m ready to go within 24 hours.

But I guess I’m getting old and creaky. I need an extra day or two to recover.

I started my run in high hopes. The weather was beautiful — Indian summer with temps in the high 60s, and lots of sunshine. 

But after 15 minutes, I knew a five-miler wasn’t in the cards today. I turned around and hobbled back to the starting point, wrapping up my run in 28 minutes. I’m guessing it was about 3 1/2 miles.

It wasn’t the only bummer of the day. I learned that the winter version of the Buckeye Trail 50K, Marathon and Half-Marathon, scheduled for Sunday, January 17, is sold out.

I wanted to run the half-marathon. Now the best I can hope for is get on the waiting list. 

What’s a trail runner to do? Well, look for another trail race, of course.

In the meantime, I found a road race that I couldn’t resist, the half-marathon version of the Indianapolis Monumental Marathon. It’s the second year of the race, which has gotten good reviews for the organization, scenery and fast course. The race is a little less than two weeks away, on Saturday, November 7.

I sure hope my legs are done with their smoke break by then.

One Response to “Creak, creak”

  1. Smoke break . . . funny. :)

    I would get on that wait list. Aren’t runners notoriously unrealistic in their goals? There have got to be some who sign up and then decide their own smoke break isn’t over yet.

Leave a Reply

