Ready, set, sneeze

Will I find the strength to run a half-marathon on Saturday?

I’m sneezing and sniffling. I have a mild fever, and am generally feeling wrung-out.

I’ve been feeling like this for a few days. I even took yesterday as a sick day to rest. 

What a time to get the flu. I haven’t run a step since Saturday’s 5-mile race in Irvington.

Will I miraculously recover? If I were a weatherman, I’d say the outlook is cloudy, with variable conditions.

The race is the Indianapolis Monumental Marathon. I registered for the half-marathon a few weeks ago, and $70, it wasn’t cheap. So I hate to throw the money away.

But running 13 miles when you have a fever can make for a very long morning.

Tomorrow, I will go to the expo, get my number and T-shirt and soak in the energy. Perhaps that will give me enough oomph to run this race.

Well, if I can’t run it, I can always take a virtual run. Check out this video to see the course:

3 Responses to “Ready, set, sneeze”

  1. I don’t know, John, but I’m not sure you should try to run it.

    A couple years ago, a kid on my son’s cross country team was sick but didn’t tell anyone for fear they wouldn’t let him run in the state meet. He ran it, but when he crossed the finish line he was covered in his own vomit. Sorry to be so graphic, but he was.

  2. Race fee: $70.00
    Medicine: $6.99
    Parking: $3.00
    Being covered in your own vomit: Priceless.

    Hope you are feeling better!

  3. I guess if I can’t keep my breakfast down, I’ll have to change my name to “Vomit Boy.”

Leave a Reply

