Trails can wait. Get me rewrite!

I wish I had time for a long run.

I wish I had time to blog about it.

But I’ve been so busy at work for the past week that I’ve barely had time to sit down for meals.

I’ve been working 10-12 hours a day, covering a bizarre and extremely complicated case of an Indianapolis businessman whose offices have been raided by the FBI. The guy is under investigation for running a possible Ponzi scheme that might have cheated thousands of investors.

In the past two weeks, I’ve had nine stories on the front page.

Here’s how weird it’s been. Last Saturday (a holiday weekend, no less), I went to Fort Ben for a 45-minute run on trails, about six miles. When I got home, I took a look at my e-mail. I saw that a source had sent me some court documents that were very newsworthy on this case.

So right then and there, while still wearing my sweaty running clothes, I pounded out a quick story, from home. 

I called my editor, who was also at home, and told him I was about to e-mail him the story.

He read it and sent it to the weekend editor downtown. Fifteen minutes later, the story was online. The next day, it was the biggest thing in the paper, right at the top of the front page. It hit the wires and was all over the country.

So who has time to blog when I’m trying to beat the competition on a big story?

The answer: not me. This week, I’m not Trail Boy. I’m News Boy, in desperate need of sleep.

For the past week, I’ve been squeezing in an occasional run, here and there, when I can. 

And I usually don’t have time to blog about it. There’s not much to blog about anyway. I’m doing short runs (six miles and under), by myself, on local trails and roads. It’s not that interesting — to anyone else at least.

But I’ve felt funny about just letting my blog languish. It was a bit like a Navy submarine going quiet on a super-secret mission. There’s no word and no explanation.

So this is the explanation.

And here’s the other thing: On the days I don’t have time to run, I suffer twice. First of all, I’m not getting a workout and clearing my mind.

Second, I go home late, with my mind racing and my body crying out for a workout.  I eat dinner and head to bed. And then I lie awake for hours.

The next day, I wake up exhausted, and have no energy to go running again. Arrgh.

Covering a big story can be fun and stimulating. Everyone wants to read about it.

But it knocks the hell out of your running. And no one wants to read about that.

**************************************************************************************************************

I went running today at lunchtime for about 5 1/2 miles on the towpath. It was my first run in three days. It felt great, although I was moving very slowly.

I was amazed by all the wildlife in the canal: ducks, geese, herons, turtles, fish. I felt like I was running through a set of Wild Kingdom.

It gave me a little peace and helped me re-energize for a long afternoon. I finished up in 48:31.

I love running. When I have time to actually run, that is.

****************************************************************************************************************

The Tecumseh Trail Marathon is this weekend. It’s a tough, hilly, race through the woods of southern Indiana.

I ran the race last December as my first trail marathon. It was difficult and fun and exhilarating and exhausting.

It was also fun to write about. I wrote this report last year, before I had a blog — before “Trail Boy” was even a twinkling in my eye. But I’ve since added it to this blog, just for fun. 

I’m not running Tecumseh this year. As I explained before, I’m doing just shorter races and runs this fall and winter — half-marathon and under.

I’ll jump into marathon training in the early spring. Meanwhile, I wish all my trail friends a wild, wacky outing on Saturday at Tecumseh.

To return to the home page, click here.

One Response to “Trails can wait. Get me rewrite!”

  1. Am going now to read your stories. Sounds juicy.

Leave a Reply

