Beautiful day, for better or worse

This sounds like the beginning of a vaudeville joke.

The good news is that we have beautiful weather.

The bad news is that we have beautiful weather.

Today, we had 40 degree temps, a real departure from weeks of sub-freezing weather and deep snow.

This morning, I ran four miles on neighborhood roads before work. I dressed in shorts and a long-sleeved short. No coat. No hat.  I had a spring in my step. A dash of warm weath will do that.

But a few hours later, I realized that warm weather in January cuts both ways.

I just found out that a trail race I was planning to run tomorrow, the Moonlight Run 15K, has been postponed for a week, maybe more, due to extremely wet and muddy conditions.

This would have been my first nightime trail race. I was looking forward to it. I was going to use a headlamp I got as a Christmas gift.

The trails at Town Run Trail Park are always a problem during thaw and rainy season.  The trails designed for mountain bikes. They are primitive dirt singletrack, and are easily damaged in wet weather.

The race has been rescheduled until next Saturday, January 23, with Feb. 6 and Feb. 13 as additional backup dates, if the warmer weather persists.

Brown County State Park has also closed its trails — at least the mountain bike trails. I’m not sure about groomed hiking trails.

Beautiful day? Sure — if you can find a trail to run.

One Response to “Beautiful day, for better or worse”

  1. Come hell or high water, I’m going to Morgan Monroe tomorrow morning.

Leave a Reply

