Here comes the sun

I’m not a scientist,  but I think there’s a big difference between cold-weather sweat and warm-weather sweat.

Cold-weather sweat is what I’ve felt for the past four months. You bundle up in two or three layers, go outside and run. When it’s over, you take off your fleece and hat and gloves and watch the steam billow  from your body.

Warm-weather sweat is a whole different thing. I’ve almost forgotten what it feels like.

But today, finally, after months of chilly weather, the sun was shining and the mercury was up to an unbelievable 59 degrees.

I ran for 44 minutes at lunchtime, just up one road and down another. I wished I had time to get to a trail, but I didn’t, and I wasn’t complaining. I was just happy to be moving.

Even better, I was wearing shorts and a short-sleeved shirt for the first time this year.

After running for about 15 minutes, I felt the strangest sensation: beads of water falling down the side of my face.

Oh God, that was a taste of spring. A taste of heaven!

Sure, winter running is OK, for a few months. But it’s March, and everyone is ready for warm weather. I”ve been dying to run in shorts again. I enjoyed the warm air on my body and the freedom from not having to bundle up in three layers.

But I forgot how good it feels to sweat. Not just any sweat. Warm-weather sweat.

Ahhh!

********************************

I didn’t have time to take a long run this past weekend. I was busy with other projects, and running from the Nazis.

But that doesn’t mean I’m going to bag it altogether. I plan to run home from work on Tuesday, a nice, healthy distance of 12 miles.

 I just hope the weatherman is wrong. He is forecasting rain tomorrow afternoon.

If I’m going to having water running down my face, I want it to be sweat. Not a  spring monsoon.

One Response to “Here comes the sun”

  1. How do you run home from work? Don’t you have a bag of clothes?

Leave a Reply

