Red for dirty, white for clean

Sometimes I feel like a trail. Sometimes I don’t. 

Good thing I have equipment for either possibility.

Depending on my mood, I can grab my filthy, red shoes for running on trails or my shiny, white ones for running on pavement. And off I go.

 

But every now and then, I don’t want to choose. I want to run trails and roads. Those are my two-fer days. 

Today was a two-fer day. I wanted to get in eight to ten miles, and mix it up with roads and trails. In two separate runs.

To make this work, I would have to deal with the weather. And what weather we’ve had lately.

Overnight, Indy was hammered by severe thunderstorms that lasted for hours. The wind whipped through the trees. The tornado sirens in our neighborhood wailed at least twice, although no funnel clouds ever touched down. 

When I woke up at 6:30 today, I was glad to see the rain had stopped, but I was sure most trails were under water.

So I grabbed my shiny, white shoes and did a few loops of the neighborhood. I hopped over puddles. I looked at the many twigs and branches that littered yards. Then I wrapped it up, running about four miles in 36:48.

At lunchtime, I was ready for part two of my two-fer. I drove up to the canal towpath, about four miles away, wondering how much mud awaited me.

As it turned out, not as much as I had expected. The towpath was full of puddles. But most of the path was above water, if a little soggy.

It was a chilly run, in the mid 40s, down sharply from the low 80s earlier this week. The clash of warm air and cool air probably explained the heavy winds — and the torando sirens.

Even though the air was cool, you could still see signs of spring, with lots of flowering shrubs and trees along the canal hillsides.

I ran north for about 25 minutes, turned around, and came back a bit faster, wrapping up in 47:07.

So that was my two-fer day. Overall, I ran about nine miles in an hour and 24 minutes.

I mixed it up, and enjoyed the variety.

Because some days you feel like a trail. And some days you feel like a road.

And some days, you feel like both.

4 Responses to “Red for dirty, white for clean”

  1. Geez, those shoes are ridiculously clean. I’ve run in shoes twice and they’re dirtier than that. Are you this clean with everything?

  2. sounds like a disneyland-california adventures commercial buy 1 admission get in both parks! way to go with your constant way to shake things up and keep it interesting! and those clean shoes do not belong to you no way no how! HAHA!

  3. Wow those trail shoes have seen some better days. And I agree your new shoes are way too clean especially after a couple runs!!

    Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

