Hitting the blogging wall

I’m not sure how I got to this point, but I’ve hit the wall. Big time.

No, not the running wall. That’s going just fine. This morning, I ran for about 57 minutes on muddy trails. Yesterday, I ran for 53 minutes on the towpath.

What I’ve hit is the blogging wall.

In the last month or so, I’ve really lost my steam on this blog. I sit and stare at the computer screen. I can’t thing of a single interesting thing to say.

I used to post every day. Now I post once or twice a week, and even then, it feels as limp as a wet noodle.

See what I mean? “Limp as a wet noodle”? What a lame, sorry excuse of a phrase. Two months ago, I never would have typed those words. When you start a phrase with “as limp as,” you should knock it out of the park.

But I’ve got nothing.

That’s a problem. When you have a running blog, you have to do two simple things:

1) Run.

2) Write.

I’ve got the first part going OK. But the second part really sucks.

That’s too bad, because as much as I might wish otherwise, this blog won’t write itself.

I think my glycogen levels at the computer have been depleted. What I need is some blogging energy gel.

Or a blogging coach. Anyone know a good one?

5 Responses to “Hitting the blogging wall”

  1. I recommend Yaro Starak – he’s got a good course on building a profitable blog, a good third of which involves how to generate content.

  2. angela minnefield Says:

    Maybe your fingers are in ‘tapper’ mode!

  3. 3) Post pictures. Muddy trails would be good :)

  4. mandatory 30 day break is just what your little sister recommends~and way to go on running!

  5. It must be something global. I am having the same problem. I’ve written better stuff when I’m super busy and only have 20 minutes to pound something out. I have time now and not a single thought in my head.

    So I’ll pass along Tim’s suggestion – to change the format. Do a photo of the day or something entirely different, at least for a few weeks until you get your blogging mojo back.

Leave a Reply

