Game on: BQ or bust

It’s time to rock and roll.

Today is the beginning of my 16-week training program for the Columbus Marathon. 

At the end of this program, I will run Columbus in 3:35:59 or faster — and qualify for Boston. Or I will collapse on the side of the road trying.

Because I’m not leaving anything in the locker room this time.

I’m tired of watching all my friends run off to Boston without me.

I’m tired of getting distracted by other stuff. I’m tired of making excuses. I’m tired of waiting until next year.

This is the year I get my ticket stamped, or I die trying.

In a manner of speaking.

Or not.

To get the job done, I need to take about four minutes off my PR of 3:40:08, which is now six years old. Yes, I got that PR in Columbus in 2004, and have never run a marathon faster since.

Sure, I’ve run a few more in the 3:40-something range, including a 3:48:07 in Cleveland last month. But 3:40-something is not the plan anymore. That’s been done.

So look out. I’m focused like a laser on 3:35:59 or faster.

In fact, let’s make this easy, and just say 3:33:33, and build in a little cushion.

I’ve got a plan. I’ve got a coach. I’ve got motivation. I’ve got an daily data log. I’ve got this blog.

Let’s rock and roll.

BQ or bust, baby.

******************************************************************

Day One: Already a sweaty mess

I started Day One with a 7-mile easy run in my neighborhood before breakfast.

The weather was a bit rugged — extremely humid from days of rainstorms. 

 I started sweating right away. Within 15 minutes, my shirt was stuck to my torso like it was glued on — a combination of clingy fabric and sweaty Trail Boy.

I finished in 1:03:03, for an average pace of 8:56 a mile.

One day down. Eighty or ninety to go.

******************************************************************

Moonlight run with a teenager

Marathon training is work, yes. But it should also be fun, or what’s the point?

Over the weekend, I had a lot of fun running with Steven, my 14-year-old. He’s doing some conditioning for the upcoming cross-country season at his high school, and has been very good about running several times a week.

We decided to run in the dark, starting at 10:15 p.m., doing loops around our neighborhood.

I wore a headlamp. Steven carried a flashlight for part of the run.

We ran 10 times around a 0.4-mile loop in our neighborhood, for a total of 4 miles.

We had fun watching the moonlight, chatting about the houses we passed, and trying to run negative splits. Steven has become a stronger runner each year, and it’s great to watch him improve and have fun.

Our time for the first five laps was 17:42. Our time for the second five laps was 15:54. Our total time was 33:35.

Our time together was priceless.

(To return to the home page, click here.)

7 Responses to “Game on: BQ or bust”

  1. Awesome, awesome, awesome!!! We both have goals of BQ-ing, and both of our marathons are on tbe same day (running the MDI Marathon). Best of luck!!!

  2. angela minnefield Says:

    Good luck in your 3.33:33 quest and run like an animal! Pain is only temporary

  3. I know you can do it!

  4. I got off the fence today and signed up for the Monu”mental” in November. See you in Boston!

Leave a Reply

