My new motivational theme song

I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for a new marathon song.

It’s time to kill the theme from “Rocky” once and for all. It’s been done to death. Every time I line up to run a marathon, I cringe when they blast that dreck from the loudspeakers. 

Same with “Born to Run,” “Running on Empty,” “Chariots of Fire,” “Flashdance,” “Imagine” and all the other retreads.

We need something fresh. Something raw and edgy.

Well, I’ve found it.

This is the song that commands you to get out of bed at 5 a.m. to run 800-meter repeats at the track.

This will push you on the long runs. This will get you to Boston.

It’s my new theme.

Whatever it is.

Click here and enjoy.

Then let’s all sing it at the starting line of the next big race.

One Response to “My new motivational theme song”

  1. Hear hear!!! I totally agree. Absolutely hate the standard finishing line songs, especially Van Halen’s “Right Now”. I’d rather have a bowling ball dropped on my tongue then listen to that crap. Much prefer your motivational choice! Think about it, for a marathon or ultra, it’s perfect… matches the surreal what-the-hell-is-going-on feeling we all have when we finish. Good stuff, man.

Leave a Reply

