A marathon weekend

Well, the Akron Marathon did just fine without me.

On Saturday morning, while I was playing the piano for my niece’s wedding, about 13,000 runners were trotting around Akron and taking in the crisp air.

And there must have been something special in the air, because according to the Akron Beacon Journal, six course records were set.

I hated to miss the race, but an injury is an injury, and there was no sense in making a fool of myself and causing more damage to my IT band.

But I had my hands full over the weekend. In addition to my niece’s wedding, I visited my parents, a few favorite sights (the Lake Erie waterfront, for one), some old friends and my old church. Plus I was trying to keep my two sons occupied, and give my wife a helping hand with all the logistics. You could say it was a different kind of marathon.

But though it all, I was keeping my eye on the marathon in Akron. As far as I can tell, the race went off without a hitch, and with perfect conditions.

 My friend, Kevin, was using the race as a training run for Columbus next month. But he felt so good that he finished in 3:34 and got another BQ. I ran into Kevin the next day and he said he felt great and was still planning to run Columbus.

Like everyone who has a good race, he was filled with joy, and that was good to see.

Of course, it was also good to see my niece Amanda and her fiance Andy tied the knot at Lakewood Congregational Church in front of about 150 people.  There were no flubs or stumbles of any kind. And I’m happy to say that I managed to play Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy,” Pachelbel’s “Canon in D” and Mouret’s “Rondeau” with only one or two minor mistakes, not bad for a back-up, non-professional musician.

*****************************************************************

What a difference a decimal point makes

With all the activities and driving around, I didn’t have time to hit my favorite trails. I didn’t run much at all, in fact, although I did a lot of walking and sight-seeing.

But I corrected that this morning. I got up early, made coffee, got my son on the school bus, then went out for a neighborhood run.

How far did I go? Well, how does 26.2 sound?

OK, it sounds preposterous. But I had 26.2 on my brain. Actually I ran two big loops around the block, not pushing my leg too hard. And when I thought about it, it came out to about two and a half miles.

So let’s say I ran 2.62. That’s pretty close to 26.2, isn’t it? Just the difference of a decimal point.

Yep, that’s my story.

So while my IT band continues to heal, I’ll claim victory with 2.62 miles.

Next year, I hope to improve my running distance by a factor of 10.

***************************************************************

Frazz — he’s still my man

Frazz - September 25, 2010

One Response to “A marathon weekend”

  1. Awesome that you were able to play at your niece’s wedding. Kind of stinks that you were not able to run the marathon, but you at least were able to do something positive.

Leave a Reply

