Crashing through the 9-minute wall

When’s the last time you got excited about running a mile in under 9 minutes?

Pretty tame stuff, huh? Well, not to me. Not today.

This morning, for the first time in maybe a year, I broke through the 9-minute wall.

Maybe it was still pretty slow. But it felt fast. And I’m ready to throw a party. My comeback is coming back.

At least, I think it is.

It’s a major milestone. For the past three weeks, I’ve been shuffling along, trying to find my legs, trying to keep my ITBS from flaring up again. I’ve been racking up a lot of 10- and 11-minute miles. I haven’t been able to get out of first gear.

But lately, I’ve been able to shift into second gear, and then a few days ago, into third gear.

The result: I ran two miles today at an average pace of 8:53.

I know, I know. I’ve run marathons at a faster pace. But this ITBS recovery is my marathon now, and 8:53 for two miles is huge. I’m going to celebrate.

How huge? Well, here’s my workout calendar lately since I started writing this stuff down a few weeks ago. The following times are my average pace for 1.5 or 2.0 miles.

11:42, 12:01, 11:46, 11:54, 11:42, 11:04, 10:29, 10:38, 10:48, 9:40, 9:18, 9:18, and 8:53.

Tell me that’s not a nice trend. Well, if it holds up, that is.

Maybe, just maybe, I’ll get back under 8:00 one of these days. And you’ll hear the shouting all the way from Indy.

And don’t even get me thinking about the 7:00 barrier.

One Response to “Crashing through the 9-minute wall”

  1. March 18th ……got any plans? Los Angeles Marathon…..

Leave a Reply

