Are you there, blog? It’s me, Trail Boy.

It’s been two weeks since I last updated these blatherings. Guess I should check in and say hi.

Life is good. I’ve been running faithfully — eight of the last nine days. It’s just that I don’t have a lot of big news to report.

Have you ever felt like that? Some weeks, the running is an explosion of news, a big, breathless story. You can’t wait to tell everyone about it. Wham, bam, you are all over the blog and Facebook and Twitter, and sending emails to all your running friends, and talking about your training and races and goals. You can’t keep it in.

But other times, it’s just a quiet, meditative thing, and you don’t feel the need to get all bloggy.

Plus you don’t want to bore readers with an endless string of “I ran three miles; feel great.” That would be a huge yawn. And there’s really nothing more snooze-inducing than a dull, deadly blog.

But I don’t want to disappear either. So I’ll just keep it short and sweet, with 10 quick thoughts since I last checked in:

1) My legs feel fine most of the time. I’ve been able to run without any real problems. Sure, every once in a while, I feel a mild twinge in my IT band. But so far, it never happens when I’m running — only when I’m getting out of bed in the morning or standing up from my desk after sitting in one position too long. So I can’t really complain, right.

2) I run nearly every day, often the same course, on neighborhood roads. I’m pushing my distance a little farther every week. Yesterday, I increased the distance to three miles, up from 2 1/2 miles. I got through it just fine at a 9-minute pace.

3) My next goal is to push the speed once or twice a week, to get me close to a 8:00 to 8:30 pace.

4) Patience, patience, patience. I repeat that mantra to myself 100 times a week.

5) Overall, I’m really happy with my progress. I’m gradually getting a bit faster, running a bit farther. Eventually, I may get back up to 10-15 mile long runs on weekends. But not if I forget my mantra, and push myself to do too much too soon.

6) Next Saturday, I’m going to run the DINO 5K trail race at Fort Ben. The hills are tougher than I’m used to doing lately, but it will be fun. I think.

7) I finally re-subscribed to my favorite running periodical, Marathon & Beyond. Now that I’m back on my feet, it’s fun to read about running again, not depressing. For most of the past 14 months, I avoided running magazines like, well, the plague. I had no interest in hearing about other people’s joy of running during my misery of not running.

8) One of these days, I’ll get my strong and fit enough to run with a group again, and I will seek one out. To tell the truth, I’m getting a bit lonely running by myself every day. There’s nothing like a five-mile run with a small group on weekends to make it a lot more fun.

9) It’s too early to set any big-time, super-duper goals. But I’d be lying if I said I haven’t fantasized about running a marathon next year.

10) That’s all for now blog. See you next time. Your bud, Trail Boy.

One Response to “Are you there, blog? It’s me, Trail Boy.”

  1. I thought I saw the junior trial boys yesterday at the Dino race but didn’t ever see you.

    That was perhaps the nicest weather ever for the Ft Harrison race.

    An abundant supply of patience is a good thing to have when recovering from injury.

Leave a Reply

